Pride Month: You’re perfect just as you are

David Hayward
3 min readJun 2, 2021

Happy Pride month friends, I drew this for Pride Month to celebrate all my LGBTQ friends around the world.

A rainbow sheep says to Jesus, “I’d like to hang out with you. Now what do I gotta do?” Jesus replies, “Nuthin!”

Did You Know that You Don’t Gotta Do Nuthin?

Many years ago I realized the enormous pressure I was under in the church to constantly perform.

I bet many of you can relate to this.

You were constantly required to be on your game.

You had to be ready to witness and testify.

You had to be ready to do good works.

You had to be ready to sacrifice.

You had to be ready to give.

You had to be ready to serve.

You had to be ready to pray.

You had to be ready to help.

You had to be ready to be a good person… flawless, praiseworthy, dependable.

But most importantly… you had to be ready to change if it was expected or required.

One of the things I detect when I sift through the gospel stories about Jesus… when I read between the diverse lines of the gospel writers… is that the man they called Jesus was a…

--

--

David Hayward

I use words and art to challenge the status quo, deconstruct dogma, and offer hope for those who struggle and suffer under it.