And then I realised she was me- A journey in drawings.

David Hayward
2 min readJan 13, 2021

In 2010, I underwent a traumatic transition in my life. I realized I felt trapped in so many areas of my life. I was very unhappy… with my job, my relationships, my financial situation… everything! All I knew was I wanted to be free.

Art has always been my escape. As a spontaneous and almost subconscious act of catharsis, I started drawing images of a woman.

The images came to me for about two years. They just flowed. I didn’t plan them or apply any effort. I just sat down and started drawing. The Sophia Series is the creative product of those sessions.

One day it dawned on me that these drawings weren’t just random pictures, but were the articulation of my interior life’s journey through spiritual, emotional, intellectual and social transition.

I realized that Sophia was me.

Sophia ‘Metamorphosis’

Initially, Sophia finds herself oppressed in so many ways. Collectively, the drawings begin to reveal her inner strength as a force that impels her towards personal freedom. From feeling trapped to living free!

There are 59 drawings, with 59 meditations, that chronicle her journey. These have been made into a book that is intended to inspire freedom of thought and personal power.

--

--

David Hayward

I use words and art to challenge the status quo, deconstruct dogma, and offer hope for those who struggle and suffer under it.